Les Kriyas

Kriyas (or shatkarma: six actions) are yogic cleansing techniques to purify the body and mind of physical and mental toxins. The purpose of these techniques is to balance the two main energy channels - Ida and Pingala. Kriyas are recommended to balance the doshas (Elements air, fire, earth and water, which together and in varying amounts define our constitution, Vata, Pita, Kapha).


Kriyas promote the free flow of energy and physical health. Thus, the kriyas act on the doshas. Practices that eliminate mucus balance the Kapha dosha. Those targeting bile try to balance the Pitta dosha, and those treating the colon and "air" in the body, tend to pacify the Vata dosha.

There are 6 groups of Kriyas:
1 - Dhauti: Cleansing the digestive system
-Danta Dhauti: Brushing the gums and teeth.

-Jihva Dhauti Tongue washing with a copper tongue scraper.

-Jala Dhauti: Drinking a large glass of lukewarm water with lemon juice every morning. Ideally the water should be close to the body temperature. The water should not be boiling so as not to "kill" the vitamins in the lemon.



2- Neti: Cleansing of the nostrils

Cleansing in order to combat the effects of polution and dust. Allows to fight rhinitis, sinusitis...

- Jala Neti: a container filled with hot salted water is used in order to clean one nostril after the other (see article on the subject).

Technique which allows to relieve the tiredness of the eyes, the headaches, and is a means of prevention against the cold, sinusitis.

-Sutra Neti: It consists of passing a thread through a nostril and to make it come out through the mouth. We recommend that you seek the help of a teacher who practices this technique in order to perform it. This practice can be very difficult and unpleasant.


3- Tratak: (purification of the eyes)

Tratak consists of fixing the gaze on a particular point or object without blinking. For example, in a sitting, stable posture as in meditation, one stares for a few minutes at the flame of a candle. One can also practice Tratak by concentrating on a black dot on a wall or a sheet of paper.

It mainly helps to develop the power of concentration and also helps to strengthen the eyes by strengthening the eye muscles.
Being a very good exercise to refocus one's mind, it can be practiced as a meditation exercise.


4-Khalapabhati: detoxifying breathing

Exercise purifies the nasal cavities and lungs.

It is one of the six Kriyas, but it is also a Pranayama exercise.

It helps in controlling the movement of the diaphragm and suppressing spasms of the bronchi. People suffering from ashme will benefit greatly from it. Before trying breathing exercises it is essential to master Kapalabhati well.


5-Nauli: Abdominal Stirring
Nauli is a practice that aims to strengthen the abdominal muscles and removes sluggishness of the stomach, intestines and liver by causing a massage of the digestive organs. Hence it regulates and promotes elimination.

According to Indian medicine, many diseases originate in the digestive system and the waste that remains stored is responsible for various disorders.



6 -Vasti: colon cleansing

Cleansing by enema, to be done at a specialized center



The kriyas are in sadhana, the first step before pranayama, asanas and meditation.

"

Constantly thinking about illness will only intensify it. Keep that feeling of being 'healthy in body and mind'.

Swami Sivananda

application ayurveda yoga android

Android application

Even more sections on our application
Download on Android
application ayurveda yoga apple ios

iOS application

Even more sections on our application
Download on iOS

Les Kriyas

Les Kriyas (ou shatkarma : six actions) sont des techniques yogiques de nettoyage pour purifier le corps et l’esprit des toxines physiques et mentales. Le but de ces techniques est d’équilibrer les deux canaux énergétiques principaux : Ida et Pingala. Les Kriyas sont préconisés pour équilibrer les doshas. (Éléments air, feu, terre et eau, qui définissent ensemble et en quantité variable notre constitution, Vata, Pita, Kapha).


Les Kriyas favorisent la libre circulation de l’énergie et la santé physique. Ainsi, les kriyas agissent sur les doshas. Les pratiques éliminant le mucus équilibrent le dosha Kapha. Celles qui visent la bile essayent d'équilibrer le dosha Pitta, et celles traitant le côlon et "l'air" dans le corps, tendent à pacifier le dosha Vata.

Il existe 6 groupes de Kriyas:
1 - Dhauti : nettoyage du système digestif
- Danta Dhauti : Brossage des gencives et des dents.

- Jihva Dhauti Lavage de la langue avec un gratte langue en cuivre de la langue.

- Jala Dhauti : Boire chaque matin un grand verre d’eau tiède avec un jus de citron. Idéalement l’eau doit se rapprocher de la température du corps. L’eau ne doit pas être bouillante afin de ne pas “tuer” les vitamines du citron.



2- Neti : nettoyage des narines

Nettoyage dans le but de combattre les effets de la polution et de la poussière. Permet de combattre les rhinites, sinusites…

- Jala Neti : on utilise un récipient rempli d'eau chaude salée afin de nettoyer une narine après l’autre (cf article sur le sujet).

Technique qui permet de soulager la fatigue des yeux, les maux de tête, et est un moyen prévention contre le rhume, les sinusites.

- Sutra Neti : Il s’agit de faire passer un fil par une narine et de le faire ressortir par la bouche. Nous conseillons de faire impérativement appel à un professeu qui pratique cette technique afin de la réaliser. Cette pratique peut être très difficile et désagréable.



3- Tratak : (purification des yeux)

Tratak consiste à fixer le regard sur un point ou sur un objet particulier sans cligner des yeux. Par exemple, dans une posture assise, stable comme pour la méditation, on fixe pendant quelques minutes la flamme d’une bougie. On peut également pratiquer Tratak en se concentrant sur un point noir sur un mur ou une feuille.

Il permet principalement de développer la puissance de concentration et aide aussi à fortifier les yeux en renforçant les muscles oculaires.
Etant un très bon exercice pour recentrer son mental, il peut être pratiqué comme un exercice de méditation.



4- Khalapabhati : respiration detoxifiante

Exercice purifie les cavités nasales et les poumons.

C'est un des six Kriyas, mais c'est aussi un exercice de Pranayama.

Il aide au contrôle du mouvement du diaphragme et à la suppression des spasmes des bronches. Les personnes souffrant d'ashme en tireront de grands bienfaits. Avant d'essayer des exercices de respiration il est essentiel de bien maitriser Kapalabhati.



5-Nauli : brassage abdominal
Nauli est une pratique qui vise à fortifier les muscles abdominaux et supprime la paresse de l'estomac, des intestins et du foie en provoquant un massage des organes digestifs. De ce fait il régule et favorise l’élimination.

Selon la médecine indienne, de nombreuses maladies puisent leur origine dans le système digestif et les déchets qui restent emmagasinés sont responsables de troubles divers.



6 -Vasti : nettoyage du colon

Nettoyage par lavement, à faire dans un centre spécialisé



Les kriyas sont dans la sadhana, la première étape avant le pranayama, les asanas et la méditation.

"

Plus d'esprit de compassion, plus de sens de préoccupation pour le bien-être des autres, est source de bonheur.

Dalai Lama

application ayurveda yoga android

Application Android

Encore plus de rubriques sur notre application
Télécharger sur Android
application ayurveda yoga apple ios

Application iOS

Encore plus de rubriques sur notre application
Télécharger sur iOS